Hello world!

Four nights ago, I was sitting in front of my brother’s laptop, randomly surfing the net as you are most probably doing so now. A few hours later, I lied awake in bed, my mind still racing at 3am. I came to two realizations that night, one of which was, you guessed correctly, that I want and need to create a new blog.

My first crack at blogging was during my teens. A couple of friends have put up their sites, and I thought, if they could do it, so could I. It should be easy enough. Writing came much more readily to me then. I would hack away at the keyboard and post about anything that came to mind, not caring if I were making sense or not. And why should I? Pretty soon, I have amassed an archive of arbitrary, spontaneous musings and a tad bit of youthful nonsense.

A couple of years passed, and I grew tired of the platform I was using. I packed my bags so to speak, and found a new place. By then, I have already begun writing in such a way that enabled me to talk about something without actually talking about it. Most of my posts still do not seem to make sense if you read them now. Truth be told, there were times when I was not quite comfortable with speaking plainly; I felt some things are a little too personal to be laid bare. Talking in code also has the added bonus of rousing my creativity. I know I was only writing for myself, for the sheer purpose of attempting to give form to the ambiguous.

So why exactly am I starting a new blog? It’s dawned on me that with only one life to live, it’s but logical to try to live it as best I can. The utter joy of the experience should have me bursting at the seams and yelling from the depths of my being. It’s contagious and simply cannot be contained. I somehow feel like I have been figuratively living under a rock. This online journal, along with my other realization, which I will tell you about pretty soon, is my way of sticking my neck out. There is this newfound sense of excitement in sharing, in being open and vulnerable, and I’m liking it.

I will be taking time to stop and smell the flowers, and man, will I try to tell you all about it. So I do hope you drop in from time to time, and say hi even. Promise, I don’t bite. In the meantime, this is where I stop. All that’s left to say now is ‘welcome’ and ‘thank you’. ‘Cause you see, from here on in, there’s going to be a whole lot to celebrate and share with you guys!

Tschüs!

4 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. You know what, I can’t believe we shared the same sentiments about blogging the past few years. That’s why I explored on doing poetry and man, were they all senseless. Haha. Go, go, go, Sharon! I sure will be spending time for your posts. 🙂

    1. What can I say? Great minds think alike nga diba? Haha :)) Thanks, Ayn! I’ll be snooping around yours too. Kaya dalas-dalasan mo na pag-uupdate ha? 😀

      1. Yeah, honestly, yours inspired me. Kaya kahit ikaw lang ang babasa magsusulat pa rin ako. Cheesy. Hahaha

Leave a Reply

