Sharon on a Mission

It’s time I tell you what my other realization that night was.

As already mentioned, I was online, jumping from one site to the next, oblivious to the passing hours. I got to thinking about my life somehow, and it was serious. I like my work, and I’m surrounded by family and friends. I know I’m in a good place, and I can say I feel settled somehow.

Therein lies the glitch. I never want to get too comfortable.

Like most everyone, there are so many things I want to do, to see, to experience. I know that the world has so much to offer, and the thought that I’m not actually exerting enough effort to make things happen, agonizes me. What’s stopping me, and what am I waiting for? Absolutely nothing and something. It sort of seems complicated, but what I figured out is this: If I so choose, there is nothing that can keep me from doing or being what I want, and whatever that something is, it will follow.

I understand too that time simply does not wait. It does not care if you’d like to stop for a minute and take a breather. It marches on, with or without you. That may sound cruel, but I’m sure life is made all the more better with this fundamental truth in place. It pushes us forward, drives us towards the next step in the cycle.

So the world and time are telling me to get my settled ass moving and eschew my lazy ways.

With 45+ hour work weeks and erratic days off, I always felt I just don’t have the time to pursue my other interests and stuff I care about. I am not allowing myself that excuse anymore. I have to start doing and quit the talking. I’m not going out to change the world or to single-handedly stop global warming though. I want to be realistic with my goals, and I want to be able to accomplish them in a reasonable time frame.

I will be celebrating my 25th birthday in June next year, and it’s the perfect deadline for this mission I’m setting for myself. I’ve drawn up a to-do list with an approximate eight-month shelf-life. That should keep me on my toes. The tasks I chose are hardly life-changing but definitely designed to start and keep the ball rolling. Who knows, by the time I’m done with this, I’d have more than enough chutzpah to chase after bigger, bolder dreams.

Without further ado, here are my 25 things to do before turning 25:

1)      Learn how to swim properlya prerequisite to many other things

2)      Have my back checked

3)      Dye/perm/rebond/______ my hair

4)      Drive myself. For real.this will make my dad happy

5)      Cook dinner at least 2x per week for a month this will make my mom happy

6)      Plant a treeor join a clean-up drive

7)      Start dancing again = love

8)      Write a short story

9)      Learn how to surf

10)  Earn my PADI diver’s license

11)  Travel to a foreign country by myself

12)  Kiss a total strangermay or may not be related to #11

13)  Go bungee-jumping

14)  Learn to play the guitarmust get over painful fingers

15)  Tell a guy that I like himonly if I really do

16)  Join a rally in Mendiola

17)  Go on a blind date just because

18)  Go spelunking in Puerto Prinsesa or Sagada

19)  Begin to learn Spanish

20)  Swim with whale sharks and climb Mt. MayonBicol, I’m still itching to go to you

21)  Sing on a stage in front of a crowd

22)  Take an art class

23)  Submit an article

24)  Treat the whole family to a vacationthis will make everyone happy

25)  Apply for grad schoolfinally 

And here I go. Wish me luck!

Tschüs! 

6 thoughts on “Sharon on a Mission

  1. I also had a similiar list when I turned 25 two years ago.

    This list is missing #26: Treat me – this will make me happy

    1. Haha. C’mon, you know you don’t need treating. You’re like the creative director with the mostest kaya. 🙂

  2. so sharon, which among these have you actually completed??
    we were supposed to accompliish #s 11, 12 and 17 last june ;c whatever happened??

  3. Wala pa. I just started this 3 days ago. I’ll post an update once I check something off the list.

    Last June? Were we? But I should be doing those alone. Hehe. 🙂

  4. #2: Tinamaan ako. #7: My dear, please do! 🙂 Right on, Shaws! Don’t settle! That’s what my bestfriend always tells me too.

    PS. #25: Please, please, please do. I’ll see you in New York! Hahaha!!! 🙂

    1. YES! Eyes on the Big Apple. That goes for both of us. It really doesn’t matter when… I’m not putting a deadline on it, but someday. 😀

Leave a Reply

