Sshhh…

Like most young people nowadays, I appreciate and support independent music. I’m all for going off the beaten path to discover and celebrate the unsung heroes of the music industry, hailing from the grassroots and peddling their distinct, raw sounds to a select audience. And let’s admit it, veering from the mainstream bestows one with a certain desirable coolitude or a palpable air of cultured taste… Oh, and a laughable, irritating pompousness too, while we’re at it.

So believe me when I tell you that I’d rather put on a pretentious display of my discriminating taste in music than risk losing major coolness points with what I’m about to do. I have a confession to make. I’ve been seriously LOVING these two pop tunes for a while now:

I just love how this song sounds. However, for the life of me, I still can’t understand how one can love another like a love song. Like duh.

I saw Taylor Swift in concert even if I wasn’t really a fan. I’m still not a fan, but I do understand her screaming legions of tween fans (with serious spending power). The World of Taylor can really suck you in, and she does it again for me with this one. Like seriously.

The power of pop just brings me to my knees sometimes. I guess I’m no good at erecting a high and mighty musical pedestal for myself. There goes my culturati dreams. Haha! ๐Ÿ™‚ย Indie or not, music, in its kaleidoscopic diversity, means and does a lot of things to different people. Bothering with labels — whose sole purpose is setting boundaries — ties us to a box, no matter how much we claim to be outside and beyond it. What matters to me personally is that I like it. Simple as that. I’ll leave the debates and the carnage to the powers that be.

As my friends always say, “Just enjoy it.” I tell you, I am. Also, just between the two of us, I’m already waiting for these two to be available at my favorite karaoke joint. Haha!

P.S. I really have no chances of ever becoming a music maven. I am completely happy to be a hungry and hopefully discerning consumer. And no offense to Selena and Taylor fans. Peace out! ๐Ÿ™‚

Tschรผs!ย 

2 thoughts on “Sshhh…

  1. I love the i-don’t-care-what-label-as-long-as-i-like-it attitude! ๐Ÿ™‚ Yer right, Xiaos, music is just POWERFUL no matter what avenue it drives through. That coming from an art snob like me. Hahaha. Di ba minsan we find “unexpectedly baduy” songs mixed with our glorious playlist?! Funny pero bakit ba?!

    Btw, check out indie-rock too. Tunes from Kenna, Ambulance LTD, Cerulean, Interpol, Jimmy Eat World, and Starsailor made me a convert. ๐Ÿ™‚ And if you plan to forever be a consumer, you might as well be my manager someday. Haha. Frustrations. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hahaha… Between the two of us, you have more chance of forging a career in music. Naks! While I’m waiting to see if it’s written in the stars for me too, I’d be more happy to be your manager. Wag mo kong kakalimutan pag sikat ka na ha? Hehe. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

