Quickie #2: Just Saying

I was actually working on my next blog post when the idea for this little number came to me. It’s a simple, almost random thought that I’ve decided to pursue and play around with. Fortunately, I have that luxury today.

I woke up at 7am and have managed to spend the past six hours sprawled upon the bed, alternating between waking and sleeping states. I finished reading a book, read my emails, skimmed through some articles, and had breakfast too at some point. I don’t really like what I’m doing.

I’m still not the most productive person around, but I’ve realized that I’m not good at idling anymore. I’m itching to do or to be occupied with something, which led me to thinking: With the smorgasbord of things, both with merit and without, all clamoring for our attention, how do we choose?

For me, it simply doesn’t matter if it’s popular or not. I don’t mind joining the bandwagon or going against the grain. I care only that it’s good. For while the number of options will always be infinite, our time on earth is not.

I know it’s all very subjective, as it should be. Whatever floats your boat, I always say. What makes it truly interesting is if and how the material affects you, if it challenges or inspires you in some way. The real fun starts when we put on a critical hat and start nibbling, discussing, and agreeing to disagree if need be.

It’s important to come away with a real, honest opinion, even when this means setting yourself up for opposition and dissent. All that’s fine. Engaging in and resolving conflicts can help you make better, informed decisions next time. Being honest with yourself and knowing what you really want and having the balls to go after it will help you make the right decisions, in life and in choosing what to consume and waste your limited time and money on.

So yes, while I do observe the Holy Week, I also wish to spend a chunk of the next few days indulging myself in things I deem important, enriching, interesting, and truthfully superfluous, hopefully in that order.

Tschüs!

2 thoughts on “Quickie #2: Just Saying

  1. I call this, “The Wisdom Post.” 🙂 Everything you said’s just so true! Fave line though: “What makes it truly interesting is if and how the material affects you, if it challenges or inspires you in some way.” Ouch. Haha. You have to get published, Shaws. YOU HAVE TO!!! 🙂

    1. Whoa, thank you, Ayn! Coming from you, that’s huge! Published na agad? Grabe. 😛 But thank you; your comments mean a lot to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

