The Lockitron and the Lytro

I’ve stumbled upon a couple of pretty interesting gadgets tonight. I know, I know. I have noticed how my blog has taken a sort of materialistic turn lately. But hey, nothing’s wrong with keeping an eye out for some fun and functional toys.

I can definitely use the first one, the Lockitron. I really hate that nagging feeling you get when you’ve stepped out of the house and are halfway to your destination, you stop in your tracks and wonder — did I or did I not lock the door? With this nifty little gadget, you can rest easy and secure your home with just a couple of clicks on your smartphone. On the other hand, it makes me wonder how easy it would be to hack into someone’s phone and gain access to his or her abode.

The next one isn’t new, so some of you may be familiar with it. Being the non-techie that I am, I usually get wind of new gizmos later on. And since everyone’s a photographer these days, I wouldn’t be surprised if you guys already have your eyes on this one. The Lytro camera has the ability to record the entire light field, allowing you to take ‘living pictures’ that you can refocus after you’ve taken them and see the images in different perspectives. With the confounding slew of camera options saturating the market, it might be worth giving this baby a whirl, if only to try shooting pictures with its unconventional boxy form.

On a totally unrelated note, I’ve been under the weather since I got back from my trip last weekend. Having colds and coughing are just so inconvenient! This is worth mentioning only because it’s taking some effort to write this post with my eyes half open and my head feeling like it weighs a ton.

I should probably be looking for remedies instead, no? Must feel better soon!

Tschüs!

Leave a Reply

